Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14536 Discussions

Problem With Proc Clocking using Win7 Power Plans I7-2640m

DF3
Beginner

First, thank you to all that read and respond to this offering help!

On to the content. So first, as stated in the title, my laptop has the I7-2640m 2.8ghz, 3.5ghz TurboBoost proc installed. The laptop is an Asus u47a running 64-bit win7 ultimate, 8gb ram. And for what it's worth, you can speak computer jargin, I have 7+ years experience building computers as a hobbyist and repairing computers for in a small business setting, so for those of you who have a similar background, you know how frustrating it is to be unable to figure out our own problems...lol

THE BACKGROUND: My issue here is simple, yet complicated. I've had the computer for a few years, and all has been well so far, but as the computer aged, I began to acquire a lot of junk from normal use so I decided to do a standard OS rebuild. Prior to the rebuild, I was able to go into the Windows Power Plan Settings (power save, balanced and performance,) then into the advanced settings in which i could adjust the processor power management. The processor power management is controlled by max and min % of the processor power. So previously, i could input 50% as the max power and it would in turn limit the proc to 1.4ghz, likewise, if 99% was the input, i would get 2.8ghz, and 100% would enable TurboBoost and give me 3.5ghz. This was nice because I could A. limit the power/clock based on whether the computer was plugged in or running on battery B. limit the power/clock based on my current needs.

THE DILEMMA! Post rebuild, the clock stays at 2.8ghz. period, the end. never drops below, and never goes up. Just a steady, 2 point 8. As you can assume, this is inconvenient for a couple reason, mainly power consumption and lack of TurboBoost when it is needed.