Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Can I connect realsense camera module with Pixhawk??

idata
Employee

I'm just learning a little bit with C++ and Arduino Nowadays

I have big interest with programming and drone So I'm planned to make autonomous obstacle evading drones.

So I'll buy pixhawk 2

Pixhawk 2 has Edison carrier board inside.

can it be connected with Realsense camera without mini PC or Raspberry Pi or Aeroboard?

I want to make my own code and obstacle evading Algorithms... can it be possible??

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JDill1
New Contributor I

The answer is "no". The RealSense cameras need USB 3.0. I am using the Intel Joule and also the NVidia Jetson TX1 with my RealSense cameras. You can't connect a RealSense camera to an Edison either as it does not have USB 3.0. I have 4 Edison boards in the project I'm working on, but they are positional sensors only. Use either the boards I suggested, or the Intel Aero board. I am using one also.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Intel already has a ready-made RealSense drone kit that is due for release any time now (store listing says mid January 2017). It costs $1100.

http://click.intel.com/intel-aero-ready-to-fly-drone.html Intel® Aero Ready to Fly Drone - Intel® Aero Platform Developer Kits

Intel also demonstrated a RealSense drone with evading capabilities in January 2015, demonstrating that it is indeed possible if you want to build your own RealSense drone system instead of using their Aero kit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0HoyJbYCPQ Intel® RealSense™ 3D Camera Drone | Intel - YouTube

I believe that early model used in that 2015 video was based on a board with six R200 cameras arranged in a 360 degree circle.

http://bit.ly/2jVQjVG

The new Aero drone kit seems to use a single R200.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Thank you for your reply

but I dont want to make it with Intel Aero kit.