Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Displaying features of SR300 simultaneously

AHase
Beginner

Hi Guys,

I'm totally new to this field so this question may sound strange but here we go:

Is it possible to display various features like object recognition, person tracking, SLAM and gesture recoignition (additionally the raw data/video stream too) at the same time on different screens?

From my understanding what I learned during my research it should be possible and only limited by the hardware resources.

Because the camera only sends video streams and the functions for the features run on the machine the camera is connected to and not the camera itself.

Is my assumption correct?

At the end it should run on Ubuntu 16.04 with ROS Kinetic.

Don't know what hardware is need for this except USB 3.0 as interface for the camera...

Sincerely, Alex

PS: I hope the thread/question is in the correct categorie

0 Kudos
22 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

May I confirm please that when you say you want to display features on different 'screens', you mean different windows on the same computer screen?

0 Kudos
AHase
Beginner

@MartyG:

Unfortunatly no, I meant literally different computer screens...

And there is no way around that :/

0 Kudos
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Okay, thank you. And are the extra display screens attached to the same computer, or do you want to display them on the screen of a different computer?

0 Kudos
AHase
Beginner

This part isn't elaborated right now.

But I would say on the one hand it would be nice if I needed only one computer to do the task... on the other the costs shouldn't be too high.

In short: the plan was to build a driving robot and on the robot is a frame where we want to visualize (different) sensors and a 3D-camera is one of it.

The displays should be on all four sides and as you may have guessed by now: there is no place for big computers.

Something small like single-board computers (is that the correct term?).