Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Custom/DIY Stereo Image Sensor module with RealSense Vision Processor D4 Board

AYuen1
Beginner

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the RealSense development community. In fact, my company (www.navatics.com) has just bought some Vision Processor D4 boards and D430 Depth modules for R&D. My team has some experience working with image processors, and are looking to make a stereo camera to put on our future robotics products.

I have the following questions:

A) Is it possible and/or feasible to make a custom depth module (out of 2x 2-lane MIPI-CSI2 image sensors)?

I understand that the D4 board enumerates differently according to the depth module attached. This means the D4 board somehow identifies the module (I'm guessing via reading image sensor I2C identification). Assuming a custom depth module is at least possible, I would like to also be able to:

B) develop applications on the D4 using the RealSense SDK 2.0 and enumerate with custom values. Any ideas?

C) Is the tracking module on the D4 card optional? In other words, can I connect only a depth module and not connect anything to the tracking module and still obtain a stereo depth image?

Thank you all in advance.

Sincerely,

Adrian Yuen

0 Kudos
10 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Hi Adrian! Welcome to the community.

We had an inquiry from another user about MIPI and custom camera sensors recently. This picture-illustrated discussion may be helpful to you.

Page 40 onwards of the data sheet document for the 400 Series modules describes the workings of the D4 Vision Processor.

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/documents/emerging-technologies/intel-realsense-technology/Intel-RealSense-D400-Series-Datasheet.pdf https://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/documents/emerging-technologies/intel-realsense-technology/Intel-RealSen