Items with no label
3335 Discussions

zr300 or d400/435?

ANag1
Beginner

Hello,

I am new to the realsense technology. I am planning to get one of the realsense camera. However I am unable to decide which one to purchase. d400 is certainly better quality with higher resolution but is heavier than zr300.

d400 mass is given as 72 gms in the spec sheet, however I could not find out the mass of zr300.

Also to run either of this camera, do I need to get a development board, or they could be run by plug and play into the pc like a Kinect.

Finally, I am from Singapore, are there local vendors where I can find these cameras quickly, then getting it shipped from the USA.

Thanks in advance,

AN

0 Kudos
1 Solution
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

I was not able to find a mass for the ZR300 Development Kit camera, unfortunately.

It is not certain when the D-cameras will be released. They will apparently be going through a pre-order phase first before they are available. So if your project has an urgent deadline, the ZR300 would be a better choice as you can get one immediately.

Please be aware though that the ZR300 model is being retired imminently, so if you want the latest technology that will remain current for a couple of years before being replaced my another model, a D-camera would be the appropriate choice. However, international Intel Approved Distributor companies may not be able to order stock of them for some time, as the cameras have not been released yet. At present, Singapore is also not listed on Intel's list of countries that they will ship the D-cameras directly to when released.

Both the D-cameras and the ZR300 need a computer or a development board to run. I do not have any information about which boards would be compatible with the D-cameras. The most compatible development boards for the ZR300 would likely be the Intel Joule (which is retired) and the recent Up Core board.