Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Realsense ZR300 on Windows

AVeli1
Beginner

Hello!

Does someone know, when realsense SDK on Windows will support camera ZR300? Or this camera is only supported on Linux?

Thanks,

Alexander.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

For the moment, Linux and Librealsense is the primary means to use the ZR300 camera. I have no knowledge of whether Intel has plans to support it in the main RealSense SDK in Windows 10.

You can also interface the ZR300 with Windows 10 IoT Core, the version of Windows 10 that specializes in connecting to devices via the Internet of Things (IoT). In order to do this though, you have to purchase an Intel Joule "compute unit" and plug the ZR300 into that instead of plugging it into a full Windows 10 PC.

This forum discussion may be useful to you.

0 Kudos
AVeli1
Beginner

Thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately, it's necessary for my project to use ZR300 on Windows 10 (not IoT).

Is librealsense available on Windows 10? Is there any other possibilities to use ZR300 on windows 10?

0 Kudos
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Librealsense claims to be usable on Windows. I get the sense that it's awkward to set up, but the option is there. The instructions seem to say that Librealsense has to be compiled in Visual Studio.

https://github.com/IntelRealSense/librealsense/blob/master/doc/installation_windows.md librealsense/installation_windows.md at master · IntelRealSense/librealsense · GitHub

0 Kudos
AVeli1
Beginner

But, as I understand, librealsense doesn't support person tracking and some other features.

Here is a list of features supported (from Github):

1. Native streams: depth, color, infrared and fisheye.
  2. Synthetic streams: rectified images, depth aligned to color and vice versa, etc.
  3. Intrinsic/extrinsic calibration information.
  4. Majority of hardware-specific functionality for individual camera generations (UVC XU controls).