Items with no label
3335 Discussions

D435/D415 fabulous... but

ROhle
Novice

For Intel to produce the D400 series at this time seems like a miracle.

I have been working on a stereo analysis algorithm for over 30 years, but have never had anything close to the D415 and D435 available to me. I suspect that there are many others in a similar circumstance.

I have also never programmed in C++ or Python. So, I'm a complete newbie in this environment. And I am an amateur programmer. So, when you say "hacker" that overstates my credentials:)

Except for installing everything, the learning curve that the RealSense group has prepared for newbies is fabulous. It all works... mostly, except for issues that are normal for a development of this magnitude. The documentation is great. It is a hacker's dream.

#

I have seen requests for scanning of various parts. In general, as is(out of the box), I'm afraid there is going to be a little disappointment. You can only go so far with the full logic and after that... hope for a hacker or two to come along.

Unfortunately, right now, the best routes to higher accuracy seem to be closed.

#

We need full streams... all of them except depth. To get more accuracy, we need all of the raw data at maximum resolution... except depth. By moving to 10cm, I get great hands and faces, but my data is all binned and truncated... In Python2.7, I am stuck analyzing 640x480ir, when the cameras are capable of 1080p. I know I can get more from the Viewer, but I can't get all of it.

The Viewer used to allow color acquisition on Ir1... now it doesn't. Wrong direction!!! both Ir1 and Ir2 should allow full resolution color and the Color camera should drop the IR filter so we have 3 full channels to analyze. FPS is not critical for most scanning applications... but resolution is.