Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7367 Discussions

Windows 10 + Intel 8265 | 802.11d and UNII-3 channels

ChusTM
Beginner

Hi community,

I am traveling from Europe to US for a business trip. I work as a wireless engineer and I need to test customer Wi-Fi but I am unable to use UNII-3 channels with my laptop (Lenovo with wNIC Intel 8265). Intel datasheet for the chipset 8265 specify it can work on all the domains (UNII-3 channels from 149 to 161 included) but I am unable to connect.

In Linux, there is a command to change the regulatory domain of the wNIC (iw reg set US) but I cannot found any feature to do that on Windows, nor the vendor driver.

On wireless networks, there is a standard known as 802.11d to inform the connected devices about the regulatory domain configured in the WLAN, for them to change the supported channels (in the case of US, avoid the use of 120 to 128, and allow the use of 149 to 161).

The result is that I cannot test the connectivity of part of outdoor network of the customer because I am not able to see the SSID on those channels. Is Windows 10 802.11d capable? Is there any way to change it as laptops sold in US can do it?

Regards.

Jesus

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Leonardo_C_Intel
Hello ChusTM Thank you for posting in the Intel Community. Allow me to investigate the behavior the behavior; in the meantime please provide me with the following information. What operating system are you ruining? What is the model of the Lenovo™ system? Is the Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 8265 the adapter that comes pre-installed on the laptop? Hope this helps. Regards, Leonardo C. Intel Customer Support Technician Under Contract to Intel Corporation
0 Kudos
ChusTM
Beginner

Thank you very much Leonardo.

These are the answers to your questions:

What operating system are you ruining?  Windows 10 x64 1803

What is the model of the Lenovo™ system?  Lenovo Carbon X1 G6