Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16613 Discussions

Create Generated clock in TImequest query

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Folks, 

I am new to timequest analyzer and have read some of the info available from altera butr cant quite seem to generate the required clock. 

I have a 1MHz PLL output which I divide down to 1KHz using a 500 count and toggle the output on each successive count. 

In timequest I choose the PLL output as the source but when I select the toggle output as the target (by looking for the pin), timequest states there is no path between them and sticks in a 1MHz clock instead. 

Do I need to select each bit in the count register as a target? 

Or am i going about this completely in the wrong way? 

thanks for any advice you can offer... 

D
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Clocks can't go through registers. So if, for example, you had a series of ripple clocks(let's just say a chain of toggle flip-flops where the output of each one feeds the clock of the next toggle flop) then you need a generated clock on each toggle flop. I don't see this done, and instead user's have the main clock drive a counter. In this case all bits of the counter are driven by the clock, and only the LSB(or whatever bit you use as a clock) needs the create_generated_clock assignment.