Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16614 Discussions

Quartus II Settings File contains an illegal device family

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I just started using Quartus II as a complete newbie. Unfortunatelly I got stuck with the following problem: 

I installed the free Quartus II Web Edition Version 10.0 Build 262 on an Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS system (32-bit).  

When I'm running the New Project Wizard, there is an error message: 

"Quartus II Settings File contains an illegal device family -- using default device family Stratix". 

On the Family & Device Settings page, I can only select the Arria GX family. The CycloneIII family and all the other device families I selected during the installation are missing. 

I tried reinstalling Quartus, but it still doesn't work. 

On an other computer, which is running exactly the same version of Ubuntu and Quartus, it all works fine. 

How can I fix that?! 

Thanks for your help, 

Jonas Lindmann
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Look here: 10.0_quartus_linux.sh (http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24563

Apparently the installer stops at some point installing the device families. But you can install the needed (or all) families manually.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I just had a look at the two Threads 10.0_quartus_linux.sh and Altera Installer on Fedora 12 (and other Linux distros). Unfortunately I didn't get an idea of how to install device families manually and how to get rid of the device families which are supposed to be illegal. 

I tried some stuff using the --update argument of the installer but didn't have any success.  

Could you please give me a hit how to start the manual installation? 

Thanks for any help! 

Jonas Lindmann 

P.S.: This is an extract of the log-file which seems relevant to me: