Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16613 Discussions

multiple block data files (.bdf)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

I am a beginner just started with 3c120-kit. I have made a design using the Block Editor. All design has been put into one single Block Design File (.bdf). 

The design runs ok, but the single bdf is not very good from point of view of the structure. I can easily split this file into 10 submodules. But when saving the partial designs in separate bdf's, the compiler wont understand the connection between the files, something which can easily been understood in normal programming languages (external references). 

When I am trying to make a topDesign using blocks, Quartus does not link the names in the submodules, so it does not work. 

How can one link easily (!!!) some bdf's to make a complete design, without having to make a lot of name mapping, which is done automatically by Quartus when the instances are in one single bdf, but which seems not to work, when splitting into different bdf's? 

Hints are much appreciated.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you talking about having them in parrallel or heirarchical. I dont think quartus will support parrallel Bdfs. 

What you usually have to do is create a bsf (symbol file) from your bdf file (file -> create / update -> create symbol file from current file). Then the sub module should be avilable to place in your top level bdf.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Splitting top level bdf in multiple 'parallel' files would be convenient for me, too. 

But, as Tricky said, I think this feature is not supported and it will not. 

If it's only a matter of visualization/printing, you can organize the single bdf this way: 

- in the page setup dialog define the number pages you want your schematic to span.