Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

SRAM in a custom board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I have a code that runs OK in the Nios development board. It use the SRAM in this board: IDT71V416 

Now I'm trying to load the code in a custom board that contains a SRAM that is very similar: CY7C1061AV33 

The problem is that the code doesn't run with the new memory, using the same IP module of the nios development board in the SOPC. 

I don't understand why, because the memory is almost the same, and the hardware configuration seems OK, because I have tested the SRAM with a small C-code that runs in the internal SRAM of the FPGA.  

I have tried also to increase the wait states and reduce the clock just in case it was a timming problem. 

what I'm doing wrong? (I have little experience with NIOS2 and FPGA desig)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you exactly sure it's the same interface and timing? If it was it would work. 

Since you said you're unfamilar with fpga design I would say try the custom interface if possible (it's a really easy bus to use for connecting generic hardware to). 

But if you want to be able to design this fast it may not be the way to go (I'm sure you would need some hardware external to the SOPC to do some conversion between that bus standard and the memory. 

G-luck
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for replying. 

In fact the custom board has a little bit faster memory than the Nios development board. 

I think that is a software problem because I can read and write to the external SRAM (all address memory) with a small C-code in the internal FPGA ram. I've used an oscilloscope to check that the signals really go through.