Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20710 Discussions

Appropriate ADC for educational project?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello folks! 

I'm a student of 'Network Systems and Data Communications' department in Greece and am doing my final project/dissertation right now in Leiria, Portugal at Electrical Engineering department. 

Because the subject is kind of complex, I'm going to introduce to you only the part on which I'd like to set my specific question. 

I want to implement a small device/circuit which will be inputted some analog voice commands from a normal electret mic. Till now I'm not clear about what pre-amp/op-amp I should use, but I believe I'll figure this out. 

The implemented circuit will be interfaced onto a Pluto-II (Cyclone-I) FPGA board, probably SPI/i2c will fit the best. I've read a lot about ADC's appropriate for voice/audio systems, and I suggest that an Σ-Δ (sigma-delta) ADC will be good for me, in combination of a simple low-pass anti-aliasing filter consisting of a resistor and a capacitor in parallel before the ADC. 

Actually, regarding the Σ-Δ ADC I still have no clear image if it is a linear or logarithmic ADC, cause as far as I know, it should be a logarithmic one for audio sampling, isn't it? 

Considering a specific topic of your forum and obvious knowledge you people got, I thought that maybe you could suggest to me any appropriate market ADC for my purpose. 

Thank you! 

Sincerely, 

David
0 Kudos
32 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II