Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20711 Discussions

Changing the device tree blob

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I'm new to the Cyclone 5 and have beeen trying to familiarize myself with the process of creating an sd card to boot linux. 

Starting with a known good image I have been able to change the preloader and uboot boot files and still boot fine. However, if I make any changes to the device tree blob file to using soc2dts and then try to boot it only gets to the 'Starting kernel...' part and then hangs. I have noticed that the address that the device tree gets loaded to is different to that which the working device tree blob is loaded to (starting at 0fff9000 instead of 0fffa000). I thought I would be able to change the dtb independently of the uImage, is that the case? 

I can revert back to the supplied device tree blob and that one will boot. Does anybody know what I might be doing wrong?
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

To restore the original sd-card image. 

Supposing you are using 13.0 or 13.0 SP1 Quartus versions the factory default .dtb file can be found under: 

<altera_install_dir>\embedded\embeddedsw\socfpga\prebuilt_images 

see also: 

alterawiki.com (Key: "Compiling_u-boot_and_Linux_Kernel_for_Cyclone_V_SoC") 

ug_soc_eds.pdf 

ug_soc_gsrd.pdf 

I hope it will help. 

Regards, 

ZS.V.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the reply, 

I have found that the element that was causing the kernel to hang was the sysid module that was added in qsys. When this section is removed from the dtb I can then successfully boot linux. I'm not yet sure what this module is for or why this is the case. It was only present because it came with the tutorial I based my work on.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Thanks for the reply,