Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

Getting started with bare-metal application development with the Cyclone V

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First post! 

Hello fellow FPGA enthusiasts. This is my first foray into the wide world of SoC development. 

A bit of background. I'm pretty much fresh out from University and work for a consumer product development firm. I'm a fairly good C coder. I did mess around with Verilog in school on a Spartan-3E FPGA but it never got very complex and thats been a few years. 

Anyway, I've been instructed to build familiarity with the Cyclone V. I was given the helio cyclone v soc evaluation board. My question is this, How do I get started? The quick start guide that comes with the device pretty much only tells me how to get started with Linux. I'm looking to start some tutorials that will help me blink some LED's or write 'Hello World' out a serial port. I've searched around and haven't found anything that useful. I've got Quartus installed but haven't been able to use it yet. Where can I get sample code to run?  

This looks pretty overwhelming from where I sit. 

Thank you so much for helping out a newb. I did try and search the site for questions of this nature and didn't have much luck.
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First off, I would be spending lots of time on rocketboards.org if I were you (there's a getting started link for your board there). 

Baremetal: I would recommend using u-boot as a basis for any "stand alone" baremetal coding. It is straightforward to modify and has a large user base. You might also be able to make use of the DS-5 examples here. 

For production, I don't recommend using anything other than Linux on the ARM SoC. Yes, it is possible, but it is non-trivial.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---