Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

Intel FPGA PAC D5005 - Best Replacement Option

craig-dillabaugh
Beginner

Hello,

I am brand new to the FPGA world, so please forgive any naive questions. 

We were looking at acquiring an Intel FPGA PAC D5005 card, which has been discontinued.  What would be the recommended replacement for this card?  In particular we are hoping for something with which we can evaluate the following software:

https://github.com/intel/hexl-fpga

Secondly, recently Intel announced the development of a ASIC accelerator for homomorphic encryption (see final point under "News Highlights") here:

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/newsroom/news/2023-intel-innovation-day-2-all-news.html#gs.72x4if

Is any information available on when this accelerator will be available either in Beta of for general availability?

Regards,

Craig

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
17 Replies
khtan
Employee

Hi Craig,

Thanks for reaching out to Intel. I'm Kian and I'm assigned to look into this case.

I'm checking with Yan Meng (the author for the github project) whether other cards is supported in the project. I saw the release notes mentioned about Agilex FPGAs but the readme still mentioned using D5005 . I'm also checking with our development team to ask about the ASIC mentioned in the link you provided.

khtan_0-1711952526537.png

https://github.com/intel/hexl-fpga/releases/tag/v2.0

Thanks

Regards

Kian

0 Kudos
craig-dillabaugh
Beginner
0 Kudos
khtan
Employee

Hi Craig,

Sorry for the wait. I manage to talk to Yan Meng and he mentioned the library has been validated on a system hosting an Intel® PAC D5005 (Intel® Stratix® 10 GX 2800), and Terasic DE-10 Agilex (Intel® Agilex™ F014) PCIe cards. HEXL-FPGA library is no longer being worked on thus only those 2 cards are validated. 

Since D5005 is discontinued (though I think there are some stock left in the market) , other option is the Terasic DE10 Agilex