Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20709 Discussions

Interfacing MaxII Micro to 5v TTL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I got myself a Max Micro kit, and I'm planning to interface this with a 5v TTL device. But I'm not sure if I\O pins are 5v tolerant. What can I do to interface a max micro to 5v TTL devices ? I know I have to use pull up/pull down resistors, but what should be the values ? Unfortunately I don't have any electric background :(. Any help or pointers highly appreciated. 

The CPLD on my Max Micro is EPM2210F324C3N. 

thanks !
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello coze,I just saw your posting, and I'm new to MaxIImicro kit. did you solve the problem? I wonder if you connect 5VTTL. 

I just started with MaxIImicro, what I do is just download demo .pof files to chip and run not more.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Use a transistor supplied at +5V if you need to increase the voltage from 3.3V to +5V and use a resistor partition scheme (e.g. 560ohm and 1kohm) if you need to decrease a signal from 5V to 3.3V. 

;)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

...or you could use an external buffer device... 

Something like a 74LVT245 

http://www.fairchildsemi.com/pf/74/74lvt245.html 

3.3V but 5V tolerant. Guess it depends on how many IOs etc you have on your interface and what the fan out is etc 

Rgds
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The Max II handbook is giving detailed answers to all questions raised here. There is particularly a paragraph titled multivolt i/o interface

1. Max II clearly isn't 5 V tolerant. 

2. TTL inputs can be driven from MAX II banks with VCCIO of 3.3V (3.3V LVCMOS I/O standard) without level translation. 5V CMOS logic needs level translation, cause minimum Vih can't guaranteed.