Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20706 Discussions

Need Help to Verify Timing Constraints On Output Pins to External Device

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I'm relatively new in FPGA designing, so forgive me if my question seem simple. 

The project I am working on involves using a Cyclone V to control 4 external DDS chips (AD9915). So I'm using the FPGA pins to send data to the DDS chips. I wish to clock my design at 156.25 MHz (which is period of 6.4 ns).  

These DDS chips supply the 156.25 MHz clocks that I am using to clock my design in the FPGA. The DDS chip requires a setup time of 2 ns and hold time of 0 ns. (http://www.analog.com/static/imported-files/data_sheets/ad9915.pdf [pg 6])  

I have read many reference online that specifies that a virtual clock has to be created for the 'set_output_delay' command to reference to. So just taking four pins from my design as an example, the SDC file looks like this. i have just attached a register with a constant value to these output ports just to verify the sdc file, also i put a 0 ns for setup and hold for the external device just to verify. 

// These are the actual clock coming into the FPGA from the DDS 

create_clock -name {ddsclk1} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 } [get_ports {dds_clk_1}] 

create_clock -name {ddsclk2} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 } [get_ports {dds_clk_2}] 

create_clock -name {ddsclk3} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 } [get_ports {dds_clk_3}] 

create_clock -name {ddsclk4} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 } [get_ports {dds_clk_4}] 

// These are virtual clocks I set up 

create_clock -name {ddsclk1_ext} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 }  

create_clock -name {ddsclk2_ext} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 }  

create_clock -name {ddsclk3_ext} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 }  

create_clock -name {ddsclk4_ext} -period 6.400 -waveform { 0.000 3.200 }