Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

Programing code using altera usb blaster

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Im new to the whole Altera system and this might be a stupid question but i just want to make sure before i gou any further. I bought the Altera USB Blaster emulator, and now Im wondering if there is any software to just load the program onto the FPGA. Im using a MAX II FPGA that is mounted on the PCB and with JTAG attached to it. I know that Quartus allows for designing and programming different devices. I downloaded the free 30 day version but Im interested in anything that is free. All i need for now is to just erase, load and verify the program on chip. I have the code already written. Is there any software that can do this? Or is any of the older versions of Quartus available for free? Im running on Windows 7 and I heard that I need at least Quartus 10.1 for it to run. Any sugestions would be helpful. Thanks.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, do you get an Altera dev kit ? What is your board ? 

MAX II is a CPLD, I think : by looking at https://www.altera.com/download/sw/dnl-sw-index.jsp, Quartus 10.1 supports MAX II, OK 

You can get Quartus Subscription Edition : 30 day trial 

and Quartus Web Edition, free with some limitations : see https://www.altera.com/literature/po/ss_quartussevswe.pdf Quartus Web Edition (free) would be sufficient for you. 

You say "programing", do you mean "configure the MAX II with custom logic" ? 

Your code is written in VHDL, Verilog, ... ? or is it a legacy project ? or a code for an Altera dev kit ? 

Even if your code is already written, you have to create a project to bring your code, , to choose device (MAX II), to assign ports to the good CPLD pins... 

Yes, you can still get older Quartus Web edition for free : see links above.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II