Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16616 Discussions

SOPC Builder "Validation Error"

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to altera software and am attempting to use SOPC Builder to build a Nios II system. I'm using Quartus II v8.0 service pack 1. But when I click generate after adding the components in SOPC builder, I get this error:  

"Error: Generation skipped because system has validation errors." 

Any ideas on what is wrong/what I should do? I can provide more details if needed
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Can you see any errors on bottom window (just above 'Next', 'Help', etc. buttons) of SOPC Builder when you have selected 'System Content' tab. If there is any error try to fix it first before generating system. It is better if you can provide more details or screen shots!  

All the best!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I too have the same problem. But then there seems to be no other errors when I am try generating the design. I am trying to run the example which is provided by Altera, Tutorial on SOPC builder. The one to simulate the lights.... 

I had tried this one earlier on a different system putting the On-Chip memory parameter to Auto... but this time I tried putting it on M4K memory block.  

I am not sure what might be the error... any info onto this...
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Try this: Go to the Nios II cpu config and make sure that you set the Reset and Exception vectors. That fixed the problem for me.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

you must edit "memory on chip" (if you use it) in the cpu , then you can normal generation

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello there,