Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

phase between 2 PLL's in different FPGA

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I have a system with 2 FPGA's. 

In each FPGA I need a clock of 40MHz. I can generate it with a PLL in each board. 

My question is: 

If the 2 PLL's generate the 40MHz signal from the same xtal, the two outputs will be in phase?  

Please look the attached image. 

Thank you.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Clearly no.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

But they will not be completely asynchronous, because they use the same xtal for generate the output? Can I predict something about the difference of phase? 

Maybe is clear for you, but I am a beginner. Sorry. 

Thank you for your answer.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

in phase,as asked, involves a fixed relation. Actually they are initialized to an arbitrary phase difference, that should be maintained until a PLL reset or a reconfiguration. The phase difference depends e.g. on the POR timing and shouldn't be expected as stable. A synchronous, reset of both PLLs can possibly achieve a fixed phase relation. If you are using FPGA with dynamic phase shift option (e.g. Cyclone III), you can implement a simple logic, that synchronizes one PLL to another on Init and than freezes this phase relation.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Er.. Something doesn't make sense here. 

ALT_PLL allows one to specify the output clocks' phase shift. One can use PLLs to, for example, generate a clock with the same frequency but shifted by 90º in relation to the source clock. 

I don't think there's anything arbitrary in it.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can't have a fixed phase shift between a source 24MHz clock and a generated 40MHz clock. 

If you generated 48MHz instead, then it would be feasible.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II