Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Incremental Place and Route

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, I’m new in all of this so I need your help. The problem is the following: 

I’m working with Quartus II 7.2 and the device I’m using is a Cyclone II. 

Well, suppose that I have a system A and I put it into the Cyclone, in order to test it I place a Sources and Probes block, called SP. If I see the chip planer (in Quartus) I see A in the corner of de FPGA. When I see the chip planner after adding the SP block A and SP are in the middle of the chip. So this, changes the skew of the signals in A and this is bad for me, very bad. 

So I want the system A to stay in the original place after I add the SP. How can I do that? 

I hope the explanation was clear. 

So thanks for all. 

Ignacio.
0 Kudos
20 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I don't see your problem as that of incremental things. You can design without the need to spy on the fitter decisions at all. The fitter puts stuff as decided by the whole design so things migrate around. Give it freedom. If things are very bad you better see what is going in your design. Are you getting reported skew? then your clocking is to blame I am afraid... 

kaz
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks Kaz… 

I have 3 signal clock form a PLL, whose goes to a mux of 3. 

I need that the skew of this signal be 0. 

So when I implement the system with out SP (with out SP is the real system) I simulate it and I can calibrate the phase shift of the 3 signal with the PLL, hence, I can compensate the different delay of the mux, hence I can “set” the skew to 0.