Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16614 Discussions

Latches in Compilation Report

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I am currently experiencing some timing issues in my design, and I suspect it might be due to inferred latches. Therefore, I would like some way of checking the compilation report to see if there are any latches (inferred or not). So far I see that the report talks about the number of registers, but I take those as flip flops rather than latches. Therefore, other than going through the synthesized schematic manually, does the compilation report provide an easier way of identifying latches? 

Please let me know. 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am no expert, but for me it always displays that information in the processing messages during compilation. It will give a warning stating that it is inferring a latch for a specific signal. 

Latches are easy to get rid of as long as you provide a default case for all signals.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Look in the Analysis & Synthesis report under "Optimization Results --> Register Statistics".