FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5933 Discussions

Help with Flash memory reading

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi, 

I am new to digital design and FPGAs, and I am having trouble with the flash Memory on the Cyclone II development board. 

I am playing around with a simple (6502) based cpu core (actually the FPGA64 commodore 64 emulator) and I am trying to use the flashRAM as a ROM. 

The addresses to the flash are being held steady for over 400ns but all I get back on the flash data lines is $FE, which never changes even when the address changes.  

I have a simple wave file exported from Signal TapII, along with the vhdl of my memory manger code which I will try to attach as a zip file. 

I wrote a simple verilog program to increment the memory address of the flash every two clock cycles (using the 27mhz clock), and that seemed to work just fine. I have no idea why this code doesn't work. 

I would really appreciate some input as I have read plenty but this is my first time using real physical hardware and I am struggling :( 

Thanks 

Simon :)
0 Kudos
18 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I guess, that the hardware is Cyclone II Starter Board. In this case, at least the FLASH_CE signal is missing from the SignalTap recording and also from the design. Without asserting CE low, no output from flash can be expected. Another question is which data has been programmed to flash.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes I am using the Cyclone II starter kit. 

The flash was 'burned' using their example control panel file that comes with the board. I used this to upload my raw data from my binary dump files, there are 3 images, one from $A000-$BFFF, one from $D000-$DFFF and one from $E000-$FFFF.