Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

Wierd Fifo RdReq problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All, How are you? 

I am kinda new to altera and FPGA's so mind me for my simple mindedness. 

Anyways I am designing a Colorization Unit for a 12bit gray scale video feed. Basicaly this block contains two fifos. 

A Receive Fifo and tx Fifo. The unique problem is that the Receive Fifo works perfectly fine and always stores and gives the data it is suppose to. I have confirmed this using simultation and Signaltap.  

But for some reason the Tx fifo which is used to send data to a scaler unit messes up once( skips a read req) and does not deliver the requested data, Hence causing the whole system to be out of sync. I find this a really weird problem , as after this one messup the system stays in sync and does not mess up any more. 

Hope some one can help. 

Thanking you Nadeem
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Does the "mess-up" always occur in the same manner? Is it always the first read after configuration/reset? What has happened to the FIFO(have there been a good number of writes to the FIFO, i.e are you sure data is in it and it's not empty)? Is it synchronous or asynchronous?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks Rsyc for your reply. 

Well I have got buffer overflow and underflow protection, but at the same time i have made in built protection, so the module does not messup. Well its Odd as this messup happens some around 4000 reads. But mind you it only happens once and does not occur again. 

Yes it seems the mess up happens exactly at the same place every time which i find very odd. The fifo is running in Async mode. 

hope to hear back from you , 

regards Nadeem
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II