Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Output Pins stuck at VCC or GND

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all. I've just finished writing and simulating a program which functions as a calculator.. However upon compiling the program, there is this warning which says: 

"Output Pins stuck at VCC or GND". 

Just so you all know I'm still relatively new to VHDL and am not particularly well versed yet. I wish to know how can I solve this problem. The pins are actually 2 pins which I intend to interface with a Seven Segment Display. And both pins are stuck at VCC, therefore permanently lighting those two LEDs.  

I have two questions: 

a) Why are those pins stuck at VCC when I did not assign any pins yet. 

b) How do I avoid this problem. 

Thanks for those who can help.
0 Kudos
28 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I reviewed my previous explanation for synthesis failure of the design, and found, that's it not correct. Actually, LOADADR is active for one clock cycle, I didn't consider that STATE is a registered signal. So it's possibly a synthesis bug, as suspected. You should check, if the Stratix III design gives correct behaviour in Quartus timing simulation. 

Sorry for causing confusion. 

P.S.: Looking at a Quartus simulation, the receiver state apparently never reaches RECV_DATA, so all outputs are non-functional. Seems like Quartus synthesis came to the same result.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi FvM,too, 

'loadRDR' signal is not asynchronous logic,but has rising edge logic for the sentence bclkx8_rising='1'
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks,so frank of you! 

I will check the simulation output in another family.I will report to all of you tomorrow.Best regards
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II