Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16635 Discussions

Timequest Constraints for Asynchronous RAM and SPI-like Input Devices

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to Timequest. In my designs I use a couple of types of interface that I'm not sure how to write suitable Timequest constraints for and would like some help and examples if possible. 

The first and probably most straightforward is SPI-like devices where the FPGA provides the clock and the device sends data to the FPGA (e.g., a serial ADC.) The clock provided by the FPGA is a divided-down version of the main FPGA clock and is only active when a data transfer is taking place. What are the appropriate constraints for this situation? 

Going through the Timequest tutorial I've seen examples for Synchronous I/O where all the devices are clocked by a common board clock, but they do not explain how to write constraint when the FPGA derives a clock to drive peripherals. The examples for source-synchronous interfaces do not appear to be applicable either, as in those cases the device or FPGA provide both the clock and data, whereas in my case the FPGA provides the clock and the peripheral provides the data.