Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16616 Discussions

usage of arithmetic megafunctions

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

to solve a formula such as 5x^2+3x+2 what is the best using of the floating point mega functions? For example, do I have to use them in a finite state machine structure? If so, how? Could you please give me advices? 

Regards, 

Bedri
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Use them how you want. The FP megafunctions are simple pipelined blocks. So 1 data value in and out per clock cycle.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

since i'm a beginner, i dont know the best way of using FP MF's. after calculation completed by MF, i need a ready signal to start the next MF calculation process. i want to know the most suitable method? is my code below suitable? and could you please warn me of what is wrong? 

process (reset,clock,t) 

variable clk_u:integer:=0; 

variable clk_end:integer:=0; 

variable state,state_next:integer:=0; 

variable rdy:std_logic:='0'; 

begin 

if reset='1' then 

aclr<='1'; 

clk_en_mul<='0'; 

rdy:='0'; 

state:=0; 

else 

if rdy='0' and rising_edge(clock) then 

case state is 

when 0=> 

aclr<='0'; 

clk_en_mul<='0'; 

state_next:=1; 

clk_end:=2; 

when 1=> 

dataa_mul<=x"3A4DE32E"; 

datab_mul<=x"40000000"; 

state_next:=2; 

when 2=> 

clk_en_mul<='1'; 

state_next:=3; 

clk_end:=11; 

when 3=> 

clk_en_mul<='0'; 

state_next:=4; 

clk_end:=1; 

when 4=> 

clk_en_mul<='0'; 

result<=result_mul; 

rdy:='1'; 

state_next:=5; 

when others=> 

null; 

end case; 

clk_u:=clk_u+1; 

if clk_u>clk_end then 

state:=state_next; 

clk_u:=0; 

end if; 

end if; 

end if; 

ready<=rdy; 

end process; 

Regards 

Bedri
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I dont think you quite understand the idea of the pipelined module.